7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 6, 2009 6:40 AM by PaulieDC

I'm new to video - buying new workstation in fall - what should I look for in $800-$1200 range?

coach bob

I am a life long still photo guy. Never had much interest in video (until now).

I needed a new camera to keep up with all of the moving targets in my Adventure Camp - the kids.

After a lot of research I bought a nifty point & shoot Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS3.

DMC-ZS3.jpg

"Hey - what's this red button on the back for?" I asked myself.

This thing records HD video (1280x720) in the .mts format.

(Does APE7 handel this camera's 60 fps AVCHD (.mts) video files?)

Now I post daily videos in addition to photos for the parents & kids to see.

See - www.youtube.com/coachbobsports - for some examples.

I have been planning on buying a new desktop workstation in October after Windows 7 is released.

I now want to get a machine that will easily handle video editing.

I don't play games but would also be loading and using the Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium applications.

Is a budget of $800-$1200 realistic?

I now have an old 22" LCD monitor in the 4:3 format. Should I get a new one in 16:9?

What kind of processor? Intel Core i7?

Thanks in advance for all of your suggestions,

Coach Bob

• 2. Re: I'm new to video - buying new workstation in fall - what should I look for in $800-$1200 range?
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Here are our recommended specs for editing video.

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/390599?tstart=0

But I sure wouldn't recommend this program to run with that camera! Rather than shooting in AVCHD it shoots in AVCHD Lite, a format that is not well supported and which will give you nothing but trouble with Premiere Elements.

You'll be much better off with a traditional tape-based HDV camcorder.