7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2009 8:26 AM by John T Smith

No sound when I burn to folder - PE7, Dell

Charliemc4

Hello,

I am very new to premiere elements and editing so please bare with me! I filmed my sister's wedding and have edited the clips. I tried to burn it to a dvd but it doesn't recognize my burner. So I tried to burn it to a folder which worked but there is no sound when I play it back (it automatically plays on Windows Media Player but there's no sound when I play it back with Real player either.)

I was hoping to burn it on to a disc using media player or maybe using Roxio.

I am using Premiere Elements on windows Xp on a dell.

Many thanks in advance.

Charlie

• 1. Re: No sound when I burn to folder - PE7, Dell
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

First, what is your source video? What type of camcorder did your video come from and how did you get it into your computer?

Also, try using a program other than a general purpose media player to play your DVD file. Your computer likely has DVD player software on it. (It's what launches when you put a commercial DVD in your DVD drive.) These programs usually play a "folder" rather than an individual file. Direct it to the VIDEO_TS folder Premiere Elements created and it should play just like a DVD disc.

• 2. Re: No sound when I burn to folder - PE7, Dell
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Charlie,

Welcome to the forum.

When an Adobe program, that burns to DVD, cannot find the player, the most likely problem is that another piece of software has "hooked" the player. Adobe programs need 100% control, and if one has any packet-writing software loaded, it cannot function. Here is an article from the Encore FAQ with suggestions. Here is another from the PrE FAQ. The most likely candidate for a problem is Roxio with its DLA packet-writing module. There are fixes, from uninstalling part of Roxio to using a 3rd party burning program, such as ImgBurn, which is great, small and free.