3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 6, 2009 7:38 AM by Gregory Lafrance

Problem debugging Flex app(.mxml)

beckman16

I am new to flex.
      There is this project(website actually) where swf files are loaded on aspx page.
      This project was developed by someone else and I have to understand this.

When I run the flex application in Flex Builder3, it expects some parameters to be passed to it.
      Like it loads some other swf file, whose path is passed to it by the calling aspx page(please tell me if this is even possible)

When this swf file is loaded by aspx page, it works just fine, but when I run the flex application in Flex Builder3, it reports error saying "file not found at the location", because the expected path is not being passed to it. How did they developed this application?....I know with little workarounds this is possible, but is there some proper way by which such apps are being developed(specially flex coupled with visual studio)

Please tell me if you dont understand what my problem is.

would appreciate any help.

• 1. Re: Problem debugging Flex app(.mxml)
          Gregory Lafrance Level 6

Its hard to say how the app was developed. You have been given all the files for the entire application, or just a sub-set?

Does it have one or more .mxml and/or .as files, such that it is a Flex app (perhaps using other technologies)?

If you have .mxml and / or .as files, then you can start to figure out how it was developed, for example does it use HTTPService to get data, etc.

If this post answers your question or helps, please mark it as such.

• 2. Re: Problem debugging Flex app(.mxml)
            beckman16 Level 1

Hi Greg,

Yes, I have whole project source with me.

It does have many .mxml and .as files. I started looking into the code

....It does not have any HTTPService or sort of clue which I can use to get

to the root of the problem.

The flex project have different directory structure than that of the website