14 Replies Latest reply on Aug 8, 2009 9:00 AM by the_wine_snob

Problem with mpeg4 rendering in PE7

dthomp03

I have a new problem that has just cropped up with PE7, and I'm stumped.  I have been importing video from my HDV camera for several months and using the footage to create mpeg4 files for use on my iPhone.  No problems for the last several months.

However, the last project I was working on, I was trying to get fancy and overlay the video with video that I already had in mpeg4 format.  In the process, I found I needed to upgrade to the latest Quicktime to be able to import mpeg4.  I did that, but now I'm getting very strange results when trying to render and export the files.  The resultant file will open with a green screen, then will flicker between solid green and an out of synch video stream.  It looks like a speeded up version of the old Max Headroom commercials.

I can export as a DVI, then use Roxio to create the Mpeg4, but I don't want to take the extra step (besides, Roxio has some issues keeping audio and video in synch for large files).

I've tried reinstalling PE7, but the behavior doesn't change.  Any suggestions on how I can fix this and get back to the way things were?

• 1. Re: Problem with mpeg4 rendering in PE7
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

As you've found, you can't really use MP4s created by Premiere Elements in a Premiere Elements project. (You also can't use FLVs output from Premiere Elements.)

• 2. Re: Problem with mpeg4 rendering in PE7
            dthomp03 Level 1

Uhm, not sure what you are saying here.  After installing the latest quicktime, I was able to pull in and use mpeg4 files just fine.  Ended up with a really cool result.  What has happened is that I can no longer create mpeg4 files, they are corrupted.  I'm not trying to view them in PE7, I'm trying to view them using quicktime.