4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 29, 2008 3:11 PM by Newsgroup_User

Expanding Templates

Go easy on me please, I am pretty new to this. I have a really good grasp on Illustrator and am decent with Photoshop but Dreamweaver is giving me nightmares!

I have recently downloaded a template from a website that assured me the template is expandable regardless of the number of lines of text I need. The template can be found here: http://www.4templates.com/view/professional-templates/12/AX0289GR

As I have been trying to build my new site, I am struggling with getting it to expand for the amount of text I am looking to put in. When I tried it with the templates included with Dreamweaver, it expands as I press enter in the content area. However, when I try to do it with the new template only certain parts expand with the text. The other parts stay where they are and everything becomes pretty messy.

Is there a simple solution to get the box to expand vertically as I enter new text/content without becoming stretched or messed up? Is it best to do it in Photoshop? Is it easier to do it in Dreamweaver?

Sorry if these questions are basic but as I mentioned I am COMPLETELY new to Dreamweaver. Any insight would be much appreciated.
      Thank you
      CP
        • 1. Re: Expanding Templates
          Level 7
          > Sorry if these questions are basic but as I mentioned I am COMPLETELY new
          > to
          > Dreamweaver.

If this means that you are also completely new to HTML and CSS, then take a
          break and get some serious study under your belt. DW will beat you up
          pretty good if you don't know some code.

Post a link to one of your pages, please. To understand what makes this
          'expand' we would have to see the code. To understand why yours is not
          'expanding' as you want, we would have to see the code.

--
          Murray --- ICQ 71997575
          Adobe Community Expert