5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 8, 2009 9:54 AM by the_wine_snob

Removing a preset effect from video clip

rtk1958

Newbie here.

I applied a preset effect (R-L pan) to a clip in my video track that I now want to remove.  Removing an effect seems straightforward from the manual:

1. In the Timeline, select the clip containing the effect that you want to delete.
      2. In the Effects view, select the effect at the top of the panel, and then click the Trash bin

However, the preset effect is not shown next to the clip in the Effects view so I don't have the Trash bin to remove it.  The effects view shows the clip, just not the effect.

I've even tried replacing the clip with the original source clip, but that has no effect.  The now unwanted effect is still there.

Thanks,

Todd

• 1. Re: Removing a preset effect from video clip
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Todd,

I find the Effects Control Panel in PrE to be slightly counter intuitive. One needs to look to the bottom-left of that Panel and hit Edit Effects button to show all Effects. You will see the Fixed Effects, like Motion, Opacity and the Volume for Audio, plus any Effects that you have added.

This differs from how it's done in PrPro.

Hope this helps and good luck,

Hunt

[Edit] Note: the Fixed Effects cannot be removed, only Keyframed.

• 2. Re: Removing a preset effect from video clip
            rtk1958 Level 1

Thanks for the quick reply.

Yes, I tried the "Edit Effects", but it just lets you edit the effect, change effect parameters, disable elements of the effect, etc., but I believe the effect is still on the clip.  I want to remove the effect entirely, the same thing as clicking on the trash icon in the effects window next to the effect would do if it were displayed as shown in the manual.

Am I missing something?

Thanks,

Todd

• 3. Re: Removing a preset effect from video clip
              the_wine_snob Level 9