25 Replies Latest reply on Aug 13, 2009 2:22 AM by Karel Bata

A few basic questions I must have answered :)

DentMe

(CS3)

Hey, I've been using Photoshop professionally for 6 years and am JUST getting into video editing so I have a few questions.

So please bare with my noob questions.

1)

I import a 200MB video and add a simple black fade to the beginning and end.

I then export as a movie and it explodes to 400MB! What gives?

2)

Also, whenever I export as movie, the video quality always seem to suffer. Even with no compression selected. Is there a fix?

I really want to upload my videos to YouTube so what's the best method of compression for that? (while retaining a high video quality)

4)

My original video frame size is 640x480. The Premiere presets don't have that size (the closest is 720x480)

How do I create my own custom frame size? There isn't even that option uder "Custom Settings"

And my original frame rate is 30fps but Premiere only has 29.97fps in the beginning....

Thanks a lot. I'm sorry if this is asking a lot but any help will be MUCH appreciated.

• 1. Re: A few basic questions I must have answered :)
          Harm Millaard Level 7

1)

I import a 200MB video and add a simple black fade to the beginning and end.

Whatever you give as instructions on export. It is a bit hard to guess with the complete lack of details, but OE is the first thing to come to mind.

2)

Also, whenever I export as movie, the video quality always seem to suffer. Even with no compression selected. Is there a fix?

No. That is inherent to editing. You lose a generation.

I really want to upload my videos to YouTube so what's the best method of compression for that? (while retaining a high video quality)

That is impossible with YouTube.

4)

My original video frame size is 640x480. The Premiere presets don't have that size (the closest is 720x480)

How do I create my own custom frame size? There isn't even that option uder "Custom Settings"