29 Replies Latest reply on Aug 13, 2009 12:31 PM by Ricky-T

Controlling Memory Managment on PP CS4

Ricky-T Level 3

Hi, i'm new to Premier, and i have a problem that in some situations, seems to just make it un-usable. I have a question and i need some advice for the future too.

The problem is basically that i have about 1500 640x480 still images loaded up that produce a video (stills rendered from Autodesk Maya 2009). The program seems to be stable, until i try to preview the video. It plays it for a while, and then it seems as if the images further on have not loaded into memory and it causes the application to become unstable and crash most of the time. The program just all goes white and i have to force a quit through task manager, and my Page File use is upto about 3.11GB when it does this, when most other applications don't even seem to allow a pagefile of that size without becoming unstable.

My question is what can i do to try and control what it is loading, so that i can work on the part i want and basically tell it it doesn't need to load the other frames yet, and when it does it can un-load the frame i was just working on. Is there a method of compressing the images loaded or anything like that? Does converting a bunch of stills to a Composition make it load better or anything? If so, how do you do this because i can't remeber from uni...or am i actually thinking of After Effects there? Essentially, i want to be able to make large videos without it crashing all of the time.

My system specs are as follows:

Windows XP 32bit

4GB RAM (Seen as only 2.6GB due to 32bit system+Hardwear)

Nvidia 9800GT X GPU

500GB HDD 7200rpm

Intel Quad Core Processor

I know the fact that my computer thinks it only has 2.6GB RAM isn't ideal for Pemeire, nor is the fact that i only have 1 hard drive.

I need some advice for a future system though. I plan to upgrade my system with the following specs over the next year:

Windows 7 64bit