16 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2010 10:48 AM by the_wine_snob

Video Capture Question

AshPhoto

I have been a professional photographer for many years and am very familiar with other Adobe programs such as Photoshop CS4 and Lightroom 2.2. I recently started shooting HD Video and am using Premier Pro CS4 to capture, edit, and output the footage.

It appears that to capture footage from the video camera to the computer using Premier you must create a "Project" and then capture clips into that project. What I would like to do is capture clips into a "Clip Library" in my computer and then be able to use these clips in Premier Projects, sometimes using the same clip in various different projects. This would work similar to the Library in Adobe Lightroom or Camera Raw.

Is there a way to do this using Premier? If not, is there a capture program that will do that?

Thanks for your assistance

John

• 1. Re: Video Capture Question
          Ann Bens Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Yes you can do this with Premiere, the only thing you have to do is tell Premiere where to put the capture files before capturing.

Go to Project/Project Settings/Scratch Disk and set the Captured Video and Audio to that specific folder.

• 2. Re: Video Capture Question
            Bill Gehrke Most Valuable Participant

Ann you beat me to it by 2 minutes, I am glad I hit the browser update button.

• 3. Re: Video Capture Question
              AshPhoto Level 1

Ann - Thanks for your assistance. I knew there must be a way to do this somehow.

John

• 4. Re: Video Capture Question
                AshPhoto Level 1

Bill - Thanks for your help also!

John

• 5. Re: Video Capture Question
                  the_wine_snob Level 9

One can also use a stand-alone Capture program, like HDVSplit to do this. Some like its capabilities better than those in PrPro.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 6. Re: Video Capture Question
                    the_wine_snob Level 9