5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 3, 2012 3:26 PM by Shadreck Rukweza

Canon XHA1 HDV Capturing/exporting Problems!!! what preset to use and whatnot?

awFilms Level 1

hey guys...

i recently bought a Canon XHA1 and ive been uploading my footage with premiere pro CS3.Im using Windows.

Ive been uploading using DV-PAL widescreen 32khz but i dont think its uploading HD am i correct??

so today i tried the HDV 1080i30 preset and i started uploading footage... it seems like the file is sooo large like when i tried to play to footage it would hardly play?is that because im low on memory on my computer or what?

Also what is the way you guys export the videos once you are done? i am having a lot of problems and dont know what settings to use...

HELP ME. IM A NOOB!!!!

• 1. Re: Canon XHA1 HDV Capturing/exporting Problems!!! what preset to use and whatnot?
          Curt Wrigley Level 4

First you need to know what your souce video is.   Your cam can record SD or HDV.  And if HDV it can be progressive, interlaced or 24F.

Then when you create a new sequence in Pr; choose a preset that matches your source.

As far as exporting; what are you exporting for?  Web, DVD, BluRay?

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Canon XHA1 HDV Capturing/exporting Problems!!! what preset to use and whatnot?
            Jim_Simon Level 8

In other words, with a camera like that and software like Premiere, one really should be a well trained/educated professional before one attempts to do the job.

• 3. Re: Canon XHA1 HDV Capturing/exporting Problems!!! what preset to use and whatnot?
              awFilms Level 1

ahhh okay i was just playing with different upload stuff to see which one would work best.

im exporting for the web... like vimeo.

i just need help with exporting and whats like good settings to export... ive been playing around and still havent found one that i like or that works super good!