2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 12, 2009 9:37 AM by mattk_ok

Interactive Timeline Help

mattk_ok

Hi Friends,

I'm like a child who wandered into the middle of a movie and wants to know...

How do I pull of something similar to a standard NYTimes interactive timeline?

I'm not looking for handouts, necessarily. I know the basics of creating a timeline (um, making buttons), but like I implied, I'm very new to the world of Flash.

I just have a few questions:

I figured I'd go frame by frame for the points on the timeline - one point leads to a frame in which the content box is appropriately positioned. Is this efficent enough, or will this have negative consequences for some reason that I'm unaware of?

Does the content box need to be be a movie clip if I plan on housing more than text?

How can I ensure that my file size won't become absurdly large?

I'm sure I can reference a book I have for a little bit of explanation, but tutorial books blow, and I'd rather have a dialogue with someone, or some people, about producing a decent timeline.

I guess my main concern is ensuring that the file isn't too big. Appreciate any responses.

Matt

• 1. Re: Interactive Timeline Help
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

There are likely numerous ways to approach creating something like the timeline you pointed out.  Your best bet is to study the timeline you pointed to and then create a simple version of it and see what works and what doesn't--Try to devise a modular approach, where each entry has a generic form consisting of a few inter-related objects.  That way, creating each entry of the timeline will follow some general process each time.  As you develop an approach, you may come to realize a dynamic presentation for the timeline information.