9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 16, 2009 12:14 PM by the_wine_snob

Premiere Pro Display assumptions (Mac)

drstudio Level 1

Hi, I'm new to video and Premiere Pro.  I'm looking at the way Premiere Pro displays my video and I have a hunch it thinks my display is calibrated to a gamma of 1.8  Back in the early days that was considered the mac standard but for some years now we've been using 2.2.  I can't see any controls in Premiere Pro to control this, can anyone shed any light on this?

I've been running a color-managed photography workflow for many years based on photoshop, I know video is a completely different beast, just trying to nail down the basics here and get up to speed.  Sorry if I'm overlooking something obvious.

Thanks,

Dave

• 1. Re: Premiere Pro Display assumptions (Mac)
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Gamma settings are done in the display driver. Premiere makes no adjustments or assumptions.

• 2. Re: Premiere Pro Display assumptions (Mac)
            drstudio Level 1

Thanks Harm.  How is it then that clips are appearing with a noticeable gamma shift in Premiere Pro?  All the other ways I can view them (QuickTime, iMovie etc) they look normal.

Dave

• 3. Re: Premiere Pro Display assumptions (Mac)
              Harm Millaard Level 7

Dave,

On the PC side players like VLC, WMP and the like can have their own adjustments and if the video driver is set to use the applications settings, that could explain the difference you see. PR however does not have those settings, it uses what the video driver was set to. Maybe on the MAC side things work similarly.

Maybe it is in the name: PC = Perfect Consistency, MAC = Mediocre Alternative Colors.

• 4. Re: Premiere Pro Display assumptions (Mac)
                the_wine_snob Level 9
                All the other ways I can view them (QuickTime, iMovie etc) they look normal.

Dave,