20 Replies Latest reply on Oct 23, 2009 6:54 PM by Lame Tigrrrr

Confirming, indexing, creating peak file. What's this all about?

Lame Tigrrrr Level 1

Althought I'm new to PrPro (see my very first post, it was the that I just started using this app), premiere already ate me that anywhere I go, when it comes to video editing, I am in its belly. But still I want an explanation regarding (again) about this message that's appearing in the status bar: 'conforming ?????.mpg". I don't really understand what's this all about. A little explanation is a lot to me. But what I am concerning about this thing is, it seems to be endless. PrPro had done already on all of my assets, conforming, creating peak files, indexing, but it still keeps on doing it again and again. Is there a problem with my audio/video files?

During the first time of my use, I didn't mind. I didn't even notice it. But now I started to be concerned with it since I my pc really slows down when PrPro starts this seemingly perpetual activity. If there's a problem somewhere else please help me.

• 1. Re: Confirming, indexing, creating peak file. What's this all about?
          Harm Millaard Level 7

That is the nature of the beast. When using HDV or any other MPEG encoded source, PR needs to do that and finish doing it before you can start editing. On a slow system, that can seemingly take ages. Only two solutions to that problem are available, either restrict yourself to DV material, that does require indexing, or use a faster computer. IIRC you have a P4 @ 3.0 GHz and that is around the minimum requirements as stated by Adobe for HDV. Keep in mind that Adobe is always very optimistic with their minimum requirements. That sells better. Realistically, you have to use at least a computer that is twice as fast to be able to edit. Add to that a suboptimal disk setup, which would not be surprising on such a dated system, and your wait is indeed long.