7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 17, 2009 7:11 PM by the_wine_snob

Premiere Pro 1.5 crashing on startup

SteelSamurai

Windows XP Corporate Edition SP2

2.83 Ghz Pentium core 2 quad

896 mb Gigabyte Geforce 260

Canopus DV-Raptor editing card

So, I work as a contract wedding video editor from home, and the company I get contracts from requires me to use pro 1.5.1 with a dvRaptor plugin. However, after a recent hardware upgrade and subsequent reinstall of windows, I encountered the following issue. On first boot and install of Premiere, I could run and work with it perfectly. However, after a few days, it would crash to desktop when opening a project or loading the titlecg.dll plugin at the spash screen. Subsequent attempts to open it would result in the splash screen opening, and then immediately crashing to desktop.

I reinstalled windows, and was fine for a couple of days, but then, after being away for a weekend, the exact same thing happened again. This is really frustrating and is costing me a lot of time. Is there anyone that can help?

• 1. Re: Premiere Pro 1.5 crashing on startup
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Tell that company that if they require you to use the Raptor, that your budget needs to be tripled at least. Also tell them that the requirement to use the Raptor will lead to significant delays. The reason is that GV/Canopus NEVER got the drivers right for PP. I have used both the Raptor and the Storm and since PP 1.0 it was a nightmare, that they never fixed. Since they never got all the issues resolved, GV/Canopus no longer support Adobe.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Premiere Pro 1.5 crashing on startup
            SteelSamurai Level 1

Unfortunately that's not even close to an option, at the moment. I get the bulk of my income from this company and am not in any sort've position to bargain with them, having only been doing contracts for them for the last couple months. Is it almost certainly the card, then?