9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 21, 2014 1:18 PM by sapphiregraphics1

Adobe Dimensions

saysf1 Level 1

Does anyone know of a "Vector Modeling Program" like the old Adobe Dimensions?

Does anyone know why Adobe doesn't either continue selling Dimensions, or put all of Dimensions capabilities into Illustrator? I am no programmer, but it seems like it wouldn't be extremely difficult to add the Dimensions capabilities to Illustrator.

I have Dimensions on an old machine, but it is a hassle to go back and forth between two computers.

I really liked the modeling, camera, and rendering power of Dimensions. The 3D tools in Illustrator are weak and offer little control.

But Illustrator does have a lot of other nice stuff...just not 3D stuff...and the 3D programs like Carrera are fun...but they aren't vector programs. The nice thing about vector programs is the ease of make changes to objects.

• 1. Re: Adobe Dimensions
          [scott] Level 6

Unfortunately it doesn't exist.

There is nothing on the market as good as Dimensions was. I've searched high and low, and while there are some decent apps out there (Swif.t3D, Strata) they still don't compare to the ease and versatility of Dimensions in some areas.

I keep an old iBook around with OS9 and Dimensions loaded on it.. and will until something comes along that's as good and easy.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Adobe Dimensions
            saysf1 Level 1

Thanks, Scott. I guess I'll just have to keep using my old computer in conjunction with my new computer, until I can find another similar program.

• 3. Re: Adobe Dimensions
              [scott] Level 6

Check out Swif.t3d From Electricrain.com and Strata 3D from strata.com.

I've been playing with Swif.t3D and it'll handle some things pretty well.

Strata looks good but I haven't tried it yet. I'm not 100% of it's capabilities when it comes to vectors. From their web site it appears to be more Photoshop based.

1 person found this helpful