5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 9, 2009 12:07 PM by Rothrock

Best way to learn actionscript?

oluc Level 1

I have been using Flash for several years now but I need to get serious about learning actionscript. I have done quite a few things with actionscript but I don't really understand it...

I'm going to be starting a massive interactive AV project and I need to learn the right way to program this.

I'm looking for a way to really learn it starting with the basics. Do you know of a very good book that explains what each of the different things mean with examples or such so I can get a real understanding of it? How did you learn it? I've bought several books but they are over my head:
      Understanding Macromedia Flash 8 Actionscript 2 by Andrew Rapo and Alex Michael
      Essential Actionscript 2.0 by Colin Moock
      Foundation Actionscript 3.0 Animation - Making Things Move! by Keith Peters

Is the best way to just read it from a book or is there a better way? The problem I have in reading it from a books is that I have a lack of examples and so get lost and don't know how it all goes together.

Hopefully this post communicates! If you don't understand me or need more data from me pls let me know.
      Oh yeah, and I currently have Macromedia Flash 8 but plan on upgrading soon to the latest one.

Thanks for any direction!

• 1. Re: Best way to learn actionscript?
          Jimmathy

I am far from a professional, but if you are trying to learn quick I find Actionscript 2 more friendly. Actionscript 3.0 just blows my mind and I am lost. So I'll just tell you that, I personally learned to script thru asking questions on this forum, and looking up specific tutorials, it has worked well for me, but this may not be the answer for you. There are a boat load of good tutorials out there, you just gotta look for them

• 2. Re: Best way to learn actionscript?
            oluc Level 1