3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2009 10:06 AM by Ned Murphy

Newbie question - using Tween via ActionScript

Orzb

Let me start by saying that I'm completely new to Flash, so I will not be at all offended if you phrase your response as though I were eight years old. In fact, I'd quite likely appreciate it.

I'm trying to recreate a simple Flash animation that someone made for me in the past. I thought I had a handle on what was going on in it, but it seems there's a piece I'm missing. Basically, there are three images (actually movie clips) covered by buttons (also movie clips). When a button is clicked, the image beneath it fades into view. There are also three other buttons, one per image, that cause this same thing to happen.

So, I recreated the original file using new images. I created each instance of each movie clip that was present in the original file, and named each of them the same, and set the properties to match. I then copied the ActionScript code from the original to the new one, and ran the debugger. The code is as follows:

import mx.transitions.Tween;
      import mx.transitions.easing.*;
      txt1._alpha=txt2._alpha=txt3._alpha=0;
      click1.onRelease=pclick1.onRelease=function()
      {
        click1._visible=pclick1._visible=false;
        var xScaleT:Tween = new Tween(exp1, "_alpha", Strong.easeOut, 100, 0, 2, true);      
        var xScaleT:Tween = new Tween(txt1, "_alpha", Strong.easeOut, 0, 100, 2, true);
      }

click2.onRelease=pclick2.onRelease=function()
      {
         click2._visible=pclick2._visible=false;
         var xScaleT:Tween = new Tween(exp2, "_alpha", Strong.easeOut, 100, 0, 2, true);      
         var xScaleT:Tween = new Tween(txt2, "_alpha", Strong.easeOut, 0, 100, 2, true);
      }

click3.onRelease=pclick3.onRelease=function()
      {
         click3._visible=pclick3._visible=false;
         var xScaleT:Tween = new Tween(exp3, "_alpha", Strong.easeOut, 100, 0, 2, true);