12 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2009 8:23 PM by NSurveyor

Problem closing popup window in flash player 10.0.32.18

mikewilson4 Level 1

Hello,

I'm new to the forum so please bear with me. I posted this in the actual "Flash" forum yesterday but I realized afterward that the ActionScript forum would be a better place to post the question (sorry about that). I'm a web designer but I don't use a lot of Flash. I'm sure this will change as time goes on. For now, I'm still using an old version of Flash MX on my Mac - Flash MX version 6. But I don't think this has anything to do with the problem I'm experiencing. I designed a flash animation for my wife's website back in 2004 and it has always worked perfectly up until installing the most recent Flash Player 10.0.32.18 just a few days ago. Here's the problem:

On the main page of my wife's website, we have a special link called "view presentation". When you click on that link, a smaller, new browser window pops up in front of the main page (the window sits "over top" of the main page - a typical pop up window). Inside of this new pop up window is the flash animation (the actual swf file). Inside of the HTML code for the pop up window, I have coded the following javascript:

function closeWin() {

if (document.images) {

self.close();

}

}

The above script, closeWin() is called from a button called "Quit" that the user clicks on in the actual swf file inside of the pop up window. Here is the code from the swf ActionScript:

on (release) {

stopAllSounds();

getURL("javascript:closeWin();", "_self");

}

This has always worked perfectly right up to Flash Player version 10.0.22.87 - the window closed as soon as the user clicked on the button. But now, with the most recent Flash Player 10.0.32.18 installed, it no longer works. The pop up window no longer closes.