6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 20, 2009 12:40 PM by pptdgc

Help with video playback please - frame rate?

pptdgc

I am new to Adobe Premiere and am trying to create a project from some video's I have taken on my digital camera. I have imported these and they show as AVI 640 by 480, 30fps. However when I click to preview these or add the video to the timeline and click 'play' the sound plays normally but the video frame does not work properly and changes perhaps every few seconds at the most. I tried exporting a video that I have created and I get the same problem. Any ideas??

Thanks

• 1. Re: Help with video playback please - frame rate?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

First, we need to know more about those AVI's. This THREAD will give you background and how to get that info.

Next, my first guess is that you will find MJPEG, as the CODEC. Just a guess. If that is what G-Spot tells you, get either the MainConcept, or the Morgan MJPEG CODEC and install it.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Help with video playback please - frame rate?
            Harm Millaard Level 7

My guess is that Bill's tip will solve your issues, but I wonder why so many people persist in using a digital STILL camera for video editing. That makes about as much sense as,  when on a warm summer night, you are looking for some ice cubes for your drink in the microwave.

• 3. Re: Help with video playback please - frame rate?
              the_wine_snob Level 9

Harm,

I think that a lot of it is the marketing of so many of these units, as "do-it-all" solutions.

There are some major after-market players, who have developed a whole line of matte-boxes, follow-focus doohickies, and attached monitors for the Canon 5D MK II. Obviously, there is a growing market for these cameras, and many people are availing themselves of them.