3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2009 9:53 AM by Joe ... Ward

Cannot print off-screen HTML content from AIR application

Tanmay Dalvi

Hi,

I am a newbie, and am trying to print a HTML from my air app, however, this HTML should never be seen on screen. I am using HTMLLoader for this, as per some sample I saw on the web.

What happens, is that there is a print dialog, but it prints out a blank page.

If this is a window application, and I click some button to print (just the HTMLLoader) it gets printed.

Following is my code.

var mySprite:Sprite = new mySprite()

var loader:HTMLLoader = new HTMLLoader()
      loader.loadString("<html><center>ADDRESS</center><br/><center>Thu Aug 20 21:37:20 GMT+0530 2009</center><br/></html>")

var html:HTML = new HTML()

html.htmlLoader = loader

mySprite.addChild(html);

//After this its pretty standard

var pJob:PrintJob = new PrintJob();
      html.width = pJob.pageWidth
      html.height = pJob.pageHeight
      loader.height = pJob.pageHeight
      loader.width = pJob.pageWidth

if(!pJob.start())
      {
           throw new PrintingCanceled(" User Canceled Printing");
      }
      pJob.addPage(loader, null);
      pJob.send();

Please let me know what I'm missing. Any help, or suggestions are welcome.

• 1. Re: Cannot print off-screen HTML content from AIR application
          __antonio__ Level 3

first, what environment are you using to build this in? (I build in Flex and Flash so this may be a little biased)

I don't recognize PrintCancelled as a valid method. And I dont think Flash API has HTML as a method either.

when you test to do you get compiler errors? you probably should get at least 4.

Just breezing through your code, "var mySprite" cannot equal "new mySprite" you'll get : Error 1180: Call to a possibly undefined method mySprite.

• 2. Re: Cannot print off-screen HTML content from AIR application
            Tanmay Dalvi Level 1