7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 2, 2009 7:01 AM by Lea Beeken

Signing forms with Adobe Reader

Lea Beeken Level 1

We have created forms using Adobe Acrobat, and have enabled usage rights in adobe reader.  Some individuals are able to create digital IDs and sign without difficulty, but others can sign some forms and not others.  The weird thing is they click on the signature field, and nothing happens.  Any ideas?  We have been encouraging everyone to get the latest version of adobe reader...

• 1. Re: Signing forms with Adobe Reader
          listens Level 1

Hello, I am not an expert, but having some difficulty with it myself , I came across some info regarding the compatibility of the individual's computer (station in a network) with the possibility of using Adobe Reader and Acrobat simultanuously. The other possible solution could lie in the version in which the original document to be signed was created. Don't know if this will be helpful.Success with it.(Trying to transfer the document into a more recent version, and then sign it, might help, but I can't do it myself any more).

• 2. Re: Signing forms with Adobe Reader
            antrikshb Level 1

Make sure the PDFs are being signed in the same version of Reader as they were created in, for example, if you created the PDF with Extended Rights enabled in Acrobat 9.1.1 then make sure to sign the PDF in Reader 9.1.1

There is some issue in Acrobat, when the Extended Usage Rights are enabled, it sometimes creates version incompatibility problems. In this kind of issue upgrading Reader to the latest version may not actually help.

• 3. Re: Signing forms with Adobe Reader
              Lea Beeken Level 1

Thank you for this- I believe it is the problem.

L

• 4. Re: Signing forms with Adobe Reader
                Lea Beeken Level 1

Thank you for this - I believe it is the problem

L

• 5. Re: Signing forms with Adobe Reader
                  Lea Beeken Level 1