10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 23, 2009 8:57 AM by Mylenium

AVIs from AE need rendering in PPro

OsakaWebbie Level 1

I'm an AE novice, so this is probably something simple.  When I use AVI files from AE compositions in Premiere Pro, they require rendering (have the red line above them even where there are not effects or transitions) while AVIs captured from my camera or generated by Premiere Pro's "Export Movie" do not.  A second render is a waste of resources and probably a loss of quality, so I'd like to get things configured so that PPro is happy with my AE-rendered AVIs the way they are.

My PPro project settings are DV NTSC, 29.97 fps, 720x480, pixel aspect ratio 0.9, display format 30fps drop-frame.  My AE project settings are Timecode Base: Auto, NTSC: Drop Frame.  I'm sure there is simply some setting that isn't matching, but I'm not sure what it would be.  A lot of the terms in the Render settings are unfamiliar to me, so I don't know which ones would affect this issue.  If it's relevent, the AE project I'm using was originally made in AE 6.0 and recently opened in CS4 and re-edited.  Both AVIs that were made in 6.0 and the new one I just made in CS4 do the same thing in PPro (whose version is CS3, if that makes any difference).

• 1. Re: AVIs from AE need rendering in PPro
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

What codec are you using in these AVI containers that you render and export from After Effects?

• 2. Re: AVIs from AE need rendering in PPro
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant