3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 22, 2009 1:54 PM by the_wine_snob

How to "edit out" audio in Premiere Elements 7

alaskalover08

As I have already posted before I am new to Premiere Elements 7. Thanks to the help of the wonderful people on this forum we are on our way to completing our video.

We captured a wedding video from our camcorder. Unfortunately the announcer at the wedding spoke the wrong last name for the bride's grandparents. Question #1: We are trying to figure out if there is a SIMPLE way for amateurs to figure out how to eliminate the sound track of the last name.

There were others introduced who did have the same last name as the grandparents.

Question #2: Is there a way to use the correct last name he spoke elsewhere and "paste" it onto the imperfection? If it is possible, how complicated is it? We are true amateurs. I have the Adobe manual and the Steve Grisetti Guide to Premiere Elements 7, if the information is hidden somewhere in either of those books. So far I haven't found it. Perhaps I don't know the correct terminology to look up.

Thank you, Mary

• 1. Re: How to "edit out" audio in Premiere Elements 7
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Hi,Mary. Thanks for supporting the book!

Here's the easiest way to eliminate the name. Remember, you can zoom into the timeline (pressing the + key) to get as close as you need to.

Position the CTI (playhead) just before what you want to cut. Click on the scissors icon on the Monitor to slice the clip.

Position the CTI to just after the part you want to cut. Click the scissos icon again to slice the clip.

Now click to select the clip between the cuts, then right-click and select Remove Audio.

That's the simplest way to do it. It will leave a silent second in the video though.