4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2009 4:22 AM by yenaphe

Help: AE crashes on invoking plug-in

theloststory Level 1

hello

i am new to AE. trying to render an AE file but AE keeps crashing with this error:

After Effects error: crash occurred while invoking effect plug-in "Ripple".

same for another plugin I used

After Effects error: crash occurred while invoking effect plug-in "Brightness-Contrast".

Details : I am running AE CS3 8.0.0.298, on MacBook Pro 2.8Ghz, MacOSX 10.5.7 (4GB RAM, 512 VRAM)

My file resolution is 2048X1556, pixel aspect ratio : 2

(i also tried a square pixel aspect ratio, but it still crashes)

Interesting thing to note: when I reduce the resolution from "full" to "quarter", it doesn't crash.

Any thoughts on how to solve this? am designing titles for a friend's film.

I have always been doing it on Combustion/FCP but find AE more user-friendly, perhaps because I am extremely comfortable with Photoshop.

• 1. Re: Help: AE crashes on invoking plug-in
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

I suggest as a first thing, that you turn off OpenGL completeley by removing the plug-in out of the AE folder. It should be in Applications:Adobe After Effects CS3:Support Files:Plug-Ins:Extensions:AE_OpenGL.plugin. Brightness/Contrast is an accelerated effect and may cause problems because of this. If that doesn't help, replace the effect with another. You can get the same result with Levels, Tint, Curves and an array of otehr standard tools. For your Ripple, use the Radio Waves effect with a blur in combination with Displacement Map. You may need to pre-compose the Radio Waves, but it should offer an alternative. I'm reasonably sure, though, that the issue here is the brightness effect, so it may not be necessary to also "fix" the Ripple.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Help: AE crashes on invoking plug-in
            theloststory Level 1

hello mylenium. tried that. didnt work.