11 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2009 8:09 AM by the_wine_snob

What dpi & quality when resizing pics in PSE for use in PRE?

ElisabetB

For use in Premiere Elements 7:

When resizing my digital camera pictures in Photoshop to the reduced sizes 1000 x 750 you recommend when panning & zooming, there are a couple of additional choices.

One asks for the Resolution in dpi.  Should it be 600, 300, or less?

The other thing is:  Convert files to ??? JPEG max quality or standard or what?

I'm still a beginner at Premiere, so please don't get too technical!

Thanks, Elisabeth.

• 1. Re: What dpi & quality when resizing pics in PSE for use in PRE?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Actally, dpi is meaningless in Video. Out of habit with the creation of New Images in PS, per my Video settings, I have it set to 72ppi, but again, that is meaningless - it's just a habit with me to make sure that everything matches. All of my PS Actions set this, but it's the pixel dimensions that count. Both the dpi and ppi are for printing, and for Web display. Video does not care.

I use a .PSD (PS's native format) for everything. Again, this is just my habit and my workflow. I am personally less a fan of JPEG compression, for for low-compression and Video dimensions, it's not a big deal. Again, all of my Actions Save_As .PSD. If I need to animate the Layers, I do not Flatten. If I do not need to animate my Layers, I leave them un-Flattened.

Good luck,

Hunt

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: What dpi & quality when resizing pics in PSE for use in PRE?
            ElisabetB Level 1

So the dpi is not important when I resize my pictures, so I can just leave it at 300 (that's where it was prefilled) ?

But as to the other part of my question, the Photoshop El.7 screen asks for ... JPEG Max quality or high quality or less, your answer is that you use psd.