10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2009 12:10 PM by Kurt Gold

How to make rectangles with angled corners

fritschedesign

So I am new to Illustrator, but my company has asked me to create some graphics for our CAD program folder options. Most of all my icons will be created with basic shapes, but I can't figure out how to make angled corner rectangles as well as combining those shapes to create the master shape when I'm finished.

I have a Lynda.com account, but I can't find anything about angled corner rectangles.....

I need to create a graphic like the attached file

Chris

• 1. Re: How to make rectangles with angled corners
          Isolder Level 2

It looks like the corners in your picture are just rounded off, correct?

You can either do Effect > Stylize > Round Corners on an object, which will round all corners or you can use a custom script.

There is one called Round Any Corner (http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/exchange/index.cfm?event=extensionDetail&loc=en_us&extid=1045 709) that will let you round specific corners rather than every corner, I think.

• 2. Re: How to make rectangles with angled corners
            fritschedesign Level 1

yeah the corners in the example look rounded, but with a finished graphic of 18px X 18px, I've found that wiht a bitmap the graphic works better as angles, then curves... these are small graphics that go into a program to be used as a Content Center icons and it only takes .bmp images

this is only one example, I have several others where the corners are 100 chamfers and not fillets.... the only way I figured out how to make angled corners is to create small squares and subtract them with pathfinder... but there has to be an easier way

I know how to make the rounded corners initially or with the effects tab, but there's nothing about making angles?

• 3. Re: How to make rectangles with angled corners
              [scott] Level 6

Add anchors and create the angles manually.