20 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2009 6:07 PM by the_wine_snob

Is down loading projects to DVD's a safe way to edit and save?

zjimbo Level 1

Hello: I am new to the sight with only one post. Got help thanks. I now want to ask what you think.

I am considering downloading my HD video projects to RW DVD's. Then I want to delete them from my hard drive. I want to do this not to save memory, but to hopefully stop 'Adobe from running out of memory' while in the middle of a project. There has been a lot of discussion about this "Low on memory....Serious problem...Shutting down stuff.

I have 8GB of Ram. Vista 64 bit, 650 GB HD, and a 6000X2 processor all for CS3. My problem is as I work on a project it gets slower and slower. I learned (by reading this forum) to shut down my computer and restarting. This works, for a while, but as my projects reach over 20 minutes the fix is short lived.

I am making a technical DVD using a lot of Transitions, some Effects for  color corrections, and a lot to Titles. In other words my projects are very busy. The busier I get the longer it takes to load and the slow things go while editing.

That is why I was considering emptying my HD and downloading one project at a time.

Is this a safe way to handle my projects?

I did a search and did not find any related discussions.

Thanks Jim

• 1. Re: Is down loading projects to DVD's a safe way to edit and save?
          Captiv8r Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Hi Jim

Please advise as to the path you followed that ended with you posting your question in this forum. Unfortunately, this forum is for assistance or reporting issues with operation of the forums themselves. So there may be a link that needs to be reviewed so you end up in a better venue next time around.

Please also advise which Adobe product you are using. I don't see it listed here. If we knew the product, we could move your thread to the appropriate forum so you wouldn't need to type it in again.

Cheers... Rick