6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 27, 2009 7:39 AM by Barna Biro

Populate Panels Problem Need Help Urgent

mcabalaji

Hi all,

I am new to flex . I have a xmllist which contains a list of items . I have to populate panels dynamically in flex with these items which i have done it ,

my problem is I need to show only 8 panels on screen in which 4 on top and 4 on bottom and should have a next button which shows the next 8 . how do it with single Hbox  .  For now I have used two Hbox and populate the 8panels and on next i clear the Hbox and populate the next , this reduces the performance of the application . Is there any way I can cache all the panels and populate it .

Thanks in Advance

Balaji

• 1. Re: Populate Panels Problem Need Help Urgent
          Virat Patel

Hello

Use ViewStack with two Hbox, each containing 4 of the panel.

You can create all panel at once after that you just need to change the index of ViewStack,

So you can easily switch one to another view.

It may help you.

With Regards

Virat Patel

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Populate Panels Problem Need Help Urgent
            christopher.mina Level 1

This problem can be thought as similar to an ItemRenderer, where a single display objet is created and reused over and over to display similar but different data.  If you need to use the HBox for ease of sizing / resizing, then so be it.  If not, you can hardcode in the x,y positions of each panel on the screen, where the top 4 might have a y value of 0, and the bottom 4 might have a y value of 100.  If this needs to be dynamic, you might as well used two hboxs, or use a Flexlib FlowBox (search google for FlexLib).