Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to reference column names, if using select *

New Here ,
Aug 27, 2009 Aug 27, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

How do i reference column names for outputting data, when using select *, and not aware of column names (and number of columns) in advance.

Even if i could get column names in other vars. I'm new to CF so question may be silly.

getting column names:-

<cfquery datasource="RTW_ORA" name="cn">
SELECT COLUMN_NAME
FROM ALL_COL_COMMENTS
WHERE TABLE_NAME = '#meas#'
</cfquery>

getting data:-

<cfquery datasource="RTW_ORA" name="cd">
SELECT *
FROM #meas#
</cfquery>

How to output all the data?

Any help would be highly appriciated!

Thanks,

Tushar Saxena

TOPICS
Database access

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 05, 2009 Sep 05, 2009

How do i reference column names for outputting data, when using select *, and not aware of column names (and number of columns) in advance.

Even if i could get column names in other vars. I'm new to CF so question may be silly. getting column names:-

SELECT COLUMN_NAME
FROM ALL_COL_COMMENTS
</cfquery>

SELECT *
FROM #meas#
</cfquery>

Your question is not sill

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,
Aug 27, 2009 Aug 27, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you're new to CF, then the best first place to start is to read the docs.  Start with this lot:

http://livedocs.adobe.com/coldfusion/8/htmldocs/queryDB_1.html#1127430

http://livedocs.adobe.com/coldfusion/8/htmldocs/Tags_p-q_17.html#1102316

http://livedocs.adobe.com/coldfusion/8/htmldocs/Tags_m-o_16.html#1101659

--

Adam

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more