6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2009 7:27 AM by wreyfmonkey

[JS] Get Timestamp, then Put Result in a Field

wreyfmonkey

Hi all,

I am pretty savvy with Applescript but I am a total newbie to JavaScript.  I am trying to make a button to place in an interactive PDF that, when pressed, will get a timestamp, then place that timestamp in a locked field.  So far, I have the button and field made (easy enough), and I even have the following code to get a Unix standard time timestamp which I have added to the button as an action (I'm assuming that is the best way to do it). 

Math.floor(new Date().getTime()/1000)

The problem that I am having is that I don't know how to place the result of this script into a text field.  With Applescript, the result would have a variable name and the field would have a variable name and I could easily run the script and "set contents of theField to theResult" or something similar.  But I have no idea how to do this seemingly simple task with JavaScript.  I've scoured the Internet and these forums and can't find anything helpful to me as a beginner, so any help would be much appreciated.  Thanks so much!!!

• 1. Re: [JS] Get Timestamp, then Put Result in a Field
          gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You should read about Mozilla JavaScript and the Acrobat JavaScript object. Material is freely available at the Mozilla developer's site and Adobe's Developer site.

The JavaScript date object is not a number it is an object that can provide a number of various date time values through the use a different methods and these methods are documentated as noted above.

To produce a resutl the you maybe able to use one could use the following code for the "Mouse Up" JavaScirpt action to fill a field named "TimeStamp":

// get the current date object
          var oNow = new Date();
          // get the milliseconds from the Epoch date
          var fTime = oNow.getTime();
          // trim to seconds