17 Replies Latest reply on Oct 19, 2009 7:11 AM by olegkon

How to access databases from Flex easily and simply?

benethridge Level 1

Hi. I'm new to Flex, but not to internet software development.

I notice that Flex looks a lot like a "web-enabled Visual Basic", in terms of the event-triggered component-centric architecture.  One thing that appears to be missing though: simple, easy database access, "simple easy" meaning not a lot of grunt work involved in getting from point "F" (flex) to point "D" (database). VB had (still has?) this as a feature of some of its components. The popular book I bought to learn "Flex: Adobe Flex 3: Training from the Source" makes no mention of database access. I had just assumed it would - seemed like a no-brainer to me, but alas Lucy has pulled the football yet again. :-)

I notice that companies have started to create this (simple easy database access) an add-on feature of Flex (which usually signifies an unfulfilled need in a technology), but this costs $$, to which I'm not to commit yet.

Am I missing something? Is there an easy, simple way to connect flex components, say the DataGrid component (duh) to a back-end database such as, say, MySql?

Ideally, this would be available as properties in the component (a la VB), which would if necessary, auto-generate the java (or php or whatever) code on the server, so that I wouldn't have to grunt it out by hand every time I change my database design (as per the initial stages of agile, scrum, RAD, etc. development)

No, I don't expect this to do the exotic (aka vendor-specific) database stuff - just the simple CRUDs so that I can quickly get my design prototyped without a lot of bean-to-column name mapping and other such tedious "grunt work".

Ben Ethridge

• 1. Re: How to access databases from Flex easily and simply?
          Barna Biro Level 3