7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 2, 2009 8:16 AM by Barna Biro

How to get all attributes of the component in action script

gandhi.tush

Hi,

I am new to flex. I am using Action Script 3.

I have one component with name template1.mxml. Into that I have 10 textboxes with unique id's.

I want to clear all textboxes when the user clicks on "Clear" button.

For this functionality, I have to wirte something like this

"

templateObj.name.text="";

templateObj.address.text="";

templateObj.city.text="";

templateObj.like.text="";

".

I have 25 templates like this and all templates have different atttributes. The above code is becoming cumbersome for me.

Is there any way from which I can get all attribute id's array for the object and then iterate on that array and write only one line

Like this:-

for each (var i in templateAttrArray ){

templateObj.templateAttrArray[i].text="";

}

I had tried the getChildren(); methods but it is returning anything.

Can any one have solutions for this?

Any help appreciated.

Thanks,

Tushar Gandhi

• 1. Re: How to get all attributes of the component in action script
          Gregory Lafrance Level 6

If all the items to be cleared are TextInput, you can do this:

for each (var obj:Object in templateObj ){

if(obj is TextInput){

TextInput(obj).text = "";

}

}

To tell you the truth, you are better off making each template a component with its own reset() method, and its reset method does something like the above.

You can change the logic for other components as well, not just TextInput.

If this post answers your question or helps, please mark it as such.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How to get all attributes of the component in action script
            Andrew Rosewarn

Hi there, this should do it

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
            <mx:Application xmlns:mx="http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml" layout="absolute" >
                <mx:Script>
                    <![CDATA[