8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 4, 2009 9:15 AM by Ian Finnan

Adding a logo to a 12oz cup template ?

Ian Finnan

Hi I have a 12oz cup template ( attached) that is already warped with a grid included and I need to add a logo to it which will have to be worped in the same way so when it is printed it will look correct. can anyone help I'm a beginner...

• 1. Re: Adding a logo to a 12oz cup template ?
          John Danek Level 4

I would think you wouldn't warp the logo in the file you send to print.  The cup will more than likely be printed via a flexographic printer where their prepress department will warp it if necessary.  You definitely should talk to them about it.

This doesn't mean you would not warp the artwork onto your existing template to show how the cup would look like when printed.  Two different files.   I typically would write down the settings I used to create the template and keep it in the job jacket for future use such as this logo warp.

• 2. Re: Adding a logo to a 12oz cup template ?
            Steve Fairbairn Level 5

It all rather depends on how big the logo is relative to the cup.

If it is small no-one will notice if it's not warped. If it is big you will probably need to warp it.

Here's a suggestion if you want to warp all your artwork:

Measure the printing area shown by the dashed orange line (coloured Art Lines 2). The height is easy. The width should be measured along the curve in the middle – you can do that close enough using a ruler on a printout.

Draw your artwork (square, not warped) to fit these measurements. You may need to make a background rectangle (not necessarily coloured) depending on the artwork.

Copy the dashed orange line.

Copy/drag your (square) artwork and arrange it in the stack so that the copy of the dashed orange line is above it. Select both.

Now do Object, Envelope Distort, make with Top Object and the copy of your artwork should fit into the printing area.