5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 2, 2009 10:48 AM by Wade_Zimmerman

Printing on CDs/DVD cases

apricotandpearjam

Hi.

Im new to illustrator.

I need to print for 2 different things...

1. A CD/DVD

2. A slimline DVD case.

I have 100 blank DVD cases (slimline) and 100 DVD/CDs stickers.

Im not sure how to get my design from illustrator onto the CD stickers and how to make sure i print out the right size for the DVD cases...

I cant seem to work out how how to put the page into landscape mode so im currently running it in portrait.

Any help is going to be massively helpful.

Thanks, Benji

• 1. Re: Printing on CDs/DVD cases
          Mario Arizmendi Level 3

Illustrator comes with a predefined  set of artworks of this called "templates" with the rigth sizes

1. From Illustrator go to New/New from template

2. Normaly this take you to the right place where the templates are stored under the cool extras folder, if not, see a picturePicture 1.png

3. Look inside Basic or inspiration folders and you will find many diferent templates to start with.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Printing on CDs/DVD cases
            apricotandpearjam Level 1

Hi.

This is helpful but its really about the printing that i have the problem with.

I have used one of the templates and printed it but it was the wrong size so its really about how to get your image to the exact size of what you want to print onto...

I have a DVD case which is 27cm wide and 18.5cm high... In the middle is 0.6mm and so both sides are 13.2cm. How do i get these exact measurements in illustrator.

It would help if i could get an A4 Landscape background to start with. Any ideas on that from within the program?

Thanks again, Benji

• 3. Re: Printing on CDs/DVD cases
              Mario Arizmendi Level 3

apricotandpearjam wrote:

It would help if i could get an A4 Landscape background to start with. Any ideas on that from within the program?

Thanks again, Benji