1 Reply Latest reply on Sep 16, 2009 3:31 AM by jake_flex

BlazeDS/Security/Spring/NonBlazeDS/NonSpring/Confusion Oh My

rickcr Level 1

I'm new to Flex (coming over from the pure JEE world.) One of the first things that is needed for any application is security authentication/authorization. I've been extremely disappointed, though, in the lack of good examples with best practices on how to handle this, or if there is a book that covers it well let me know and I'll purchase it.

I'm working with BlazeDS at the moment (but not opposed to scrapping it.)

I have managed to finally get a security setup using blazeds-spring integration working, but their forum is a ghost town so it makes me think that there aren't many people using it. The docs are also extremely vague. Had it not been for some stuff that I was able to pull from these two tutorials by the same author http://www.adobe.com/devnet/flex/articles/flex_security.html#ach-setscr  http://www.gridshore.nl/2009/05/24/integrate-flex-security-in-mate-using-the-spring-blazed s-integration-project/ I would have been completely lost. Even though it's 'mostly' working, so much is unknown to me, and because the reference doc http://static.springsource.org/spring-flex/docs/1.0.x/reference/html/index.html is so short it doesn't cover a lot of what is going on.

I'm not even 100% certain I want to use Spring though (It seems to actually black-box too much and in some ways overcomplicate things with a lot of configuration), yet I want my application be portable across containers. Where are the examples on the best way to set things up? The blazeds reference doc chapter seems to gloss over a lot, and only confuses me a bit more. I'd like to see some real examples.

As an example of some things that I'd like to see:

1) When not using Spring security, where is a concrete implementation of handling authentication and authorization (with/without blazeDS - I just want a good best practice example of how things are handled)?