6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 4, 2009 9:10 AM by A.T. Romano

DVD Capacity in Copying Slide Show?

sanray19

I have created a slide show using PE 6, now I want to copy it to a DVD. It is a fairly large slide show from a Eurpoean trip. How can I determine if it will fit on a standard 120 min / 4.7GB DVD before attempting to burn it? I assume if it won't fit on a standard DVD that I can record it on a double layer 240 min / 8.5 GB DVD using Pemiere 4? Is that correct? Or, If I need to I can break the slide show into two portions each of which will fit on a standard DVD using Premiere 4? Is that right?

I apologize for asking such basic questions. However this is my first attempt at creating a slide show from still photos using PE 6 and then burn it to a DVD using Premiere 4. Previously I had only PE 4 on an older computer with which I was fairly familiar. Now, I have a new Vista computer which came with PE 6 and PE Premiere 4 installed.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Sanray 19

• 1. Re: DVD Capacity in Copying Slide Show?
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Due to system overhead and the way a "gigabyte" is calculate, you really only have about 3.8 computer gigabytes when writing to a DVD

Since you don't mention the size of your file(s) on your hard disk, only you will know if it will fit

• 2. Re: DVD Capacity in Copying Slide Show?
            the_wine_snob Level 9

I assume that you are referring to PSE 6 (Photoshop Elements 6), as there is no PrE 6. It skips from PrE 4 to PrE 7.

Now, if you do mean PSE 6, have you Exported the SlideShow and then Imported it into PrE?

What is the runtime, the Duration, of the SlideShow?