4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 5, 2009 9:55 AM by TheFlexGuy

Datagrid in viewstack and filter function

Marlene Level 1

My prelaunch site is at http://67.199.72.153/yumyum.html. I am still learning flex. So if you click on RESTAURANTS BY CUISINE this makes the linkBar named "cuisineLinkBar" visible. The cuisineLinkBar is populated with a viewstack named subNavigation. The subnavigation is five vboxes with the first one being "All". I have a datagrid that is hooked up to a database and populated with an ArrayCollection and that is all working fine. When the user clicks on "American" for instance, I want to run a filterFunction on the data and filter for cuisine=American. I know how to run the filter function by using the following code

public function cuisineFilter(filterName:Function):void {

dataAC.filterFunction=filterName;

//sortList();

dataAC.refresh();     

}

private function americanCuisineFilter(item:Object):Boolean {

return (item.restaurantCuisine=="american");

}

I don't know where to put a click handler to trigger function cuisineFilter.

I have enabled source view so hopefully someone has enough information to be able to help.

• 1. Re: Datagrid in viewstack and filter function
          Gregory Lafrance Level 6

I'm thinking you don't need a ViewStack and the one DataGrid per cuisine.

I would think that you could just have one DataGrid, and then the LinkBar buttons click handler can call the cuisineFilter method.

If this post answered your question or helped, please mark it as such.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Datagrid in viewstack and filter function
            TheFlexGuy Level 2

Greg is correct, you could just have one Datagrid.  The click event handler for the link bar would call a function with a keyword based on what they clicked (ie. American) and set a variable to hold the cuisine to use in the filter function.

In resultHandler, I'd add the line

dataAC.filterFunction = myFilter;