8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 6, 2009 12:11 PM by Pictrix

Help creating a grid/form?

Pictrix

Hello, I'm new to Illustrator here (I have an older version when needed, but I used to use Freehand)

I'm used to setting up grids/forms by creating the first row, then duping it, aligning it, then dupe the aligned copy on down the page. (Cmd D)

(takes just a few seconds).

How do you do this in Illustrator?

Copy/Paste or option drag 30-40 times .... seems rather ineffective?

Also, I can't figure out how to get multiple items to align (left) and distribute(heights) with the paths touching without having to manually position them.

(It's one thing to position the first dupe, and then have it auto-align all subsequent dupes, but it's making me grind my teeth to manually position each row all the way down the page).

Can someone point me in the right direction here?

Thanks for any help or pointers!

• 1. Re: Help creating a grid/form?
          Jacob Bugge MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Pictrix,

You may consider using the Grid Tool (flyout from the Line Segment Tool). It creates a filled rectangle with single inner gridlines, all grouped. You may form separate boxes of closed unfilled paths by Pathfinder>Divide, still grouped; each or all may be filled together or separately; you may work with each using the Direct Selection Tool or Ungroup (Ctrl/Cmd+Shift+G).

For mutual alignment, use the Align palette. Select all and click once more on the object to rule the alignment/distribution. The values in Distribute Spacing decide the distances, if any. The icons should be self explanatory, but you may just use try and fail until you are there.

• 2. Re: Help creating a grid/form?
            Pictrix Level 1

Hey... thank you for taking the time to respond to my question.

Ok, I did find the alignment palette, and how to align on object... so that helps a lot.

Thank you for pointing out the location of the grid tool.