15 Replies Latest reply on Sep 8, 2009 1:16 PM by A.T. Romano

How to choose the right project settings?

WillemdeNie

I'm new in taking video's and in editing them. I bought a Sanyo HD Xacti Video camera and made a lot of clips in my last holiday. The clips are transferred to my compter and have the format .MP4 1280-720 depth 1280 and 29,97 fps.

I want to create after editing en DVD which I can show on my TV 16:9 (PAL-Netherlands)

When I create a new project I have to choose the seetings and I really do not know how to choose!!

What Project settings should I choose because in the settings I only see 30 fps under de NTSC systems. Is there some where a general explanation how to do?

Help will be appreciated very much!!

Greetings Willem

• 1. Re: How to choose the right project settings?
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

1st question would be how you bought an NTSC camera in PAL land?

2nd question is does your camera have a PAL option?

From what I've read in this forum, Premiere does not convert from one format to another, you need to do that before you import the files

You might Google

convert ntsc pal

I've not used these... I"m in the US and don't do PAL... but made a note of http://paul.glagla.free.fr/dvdate_en.htm or http://dvfilm.com/atlantis/index.htm

• 2. Re: How to choose the right project settings?
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

According to the specifications I found online, your camcorder is an AVCHD camcorder. Unfortunately, it is a 720p hybrid of the AVCHD codec, and so you may have to experiment with Premiere Elements to find out which setting to use.

I would start with the PAL AVCHD HD1080i preset (not 5.1 audio).

If this doesn't work, you may need to convert your video files in order to edit them in Premiere Elements. Unfortunately, these lower-end hybrid high definition camcorders can be very difficult to edit in their native state.

• 3. Re: How to choose the right project settings?