2 Replies Latest reply on Sep 8, 2009 6:43 AM by Rlayne8694

Drawing Application

Rlayne8694 Level 1

I want to create a program similar to Microsoft Visio's floor plan application.

It allows you to easily scale some existing templates to new custom sizes.

Did I buy the right program, Adobe Air & Flash?

Obviously, I'm new to this and appreciate anyones help and direction.

If so where should my focus of learning be to accomplish this task?

Thx again for anyones help and direction.

Russ

• 1. Re: Drawing Application
          ab1301 Level 1

If I were building a drawing application (I'm not), I would probably start by learning how to use and extend Degrafa in Flex (this would require Flex Builder--soon to be Flash Builder--instead of Flash).  Degrafa is an open source graphics framework for flex.  They have already solved a lot of what one would need to create a really cool vector based drawing application.  I saw a presentation by the Degrafa guys at a flex event, and it looks extremely powerful, and very cool... almost cool enough to suck me into graphics when it has nothing to do with what I'm doing now.  http://www.degrafa.org/index.html The site has extensive documentation and examples.

• 2. Re: Drawing Application
            Rlayne8694 Level 1

Thank you for your valuable information. I will look at Degrafa and pursue that avenue, Thank again.

Russ

Date: Mon, 7 Sep 2009 21:26:20 -0600

To: rlayne8694@msn.com

Subject: Drawing Application