5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 7, 2009 10:57 PM by Mylenium

FLV Editing in Adobe Products?

LippyLippy

Hi Gang,

I am currently producing/hosting a TEQUILA reviews LIVE streaming webcast  ( http://tequilawhisperer.com ) .  I use the Flash Live Media Encoder to create my stream.  I'm wondering if "After Effects" allows native editing of the .FLV file?  If Not, does "Premiere"?

I'm a Flash animator who is looking for an excuse to learn "AE", so I'd RATHER do my .flv video editing (mostly straight - forward linear classic fillm editing) in that program if possible.

Thanks for any help here!

-Lippy

www.lippy.com

• 1. Re: FLV Editing in Adobe Products?
          yenaphe Level 4

Be aware that AE is NOT an editing program, so it will be really cumbersome to use it to edit stuff. For instance you don't have realtime previews, you need to do ram previews before, so i'd definitively switch to Premiere Pro.

• 2. Re: FLV Editing in Adobe Products?
            Adolfo Rozenfeld Adobe Employee

Lippy: Both After Effects and Premiere Pro will let you import FLV files. However, it's important to state that FLV was designed to be a distribution format, not a production format. Because of this, in an editing application like Premiere Pro you will see yourself rendering all the time just to visualize your work. If you consider that FLV is not a production format, you may prefer to convert the content (or produce it from scratch) in production-friendly formats such as Quicktime or AVI, and then ouput a FLV file as the end result. If you absolutely requre to import FLV content, then yes you can do it, but it's not ideal.

• 3. Re: FLV Editing in Adobe Products?
              LippyLippy Level 1

Thanks so much for the help, Guys.  Let me be even a bit more clear if I can: