10 Replies Latest reply on Sep 9, 2009 10:04 AM by TimeRemapper

AF layer planar rotation crop... =(

Luca'sWorks

Hi everybody! I'm new here, and I'm new to AF too...

I'm trying to create a dvd menù for encore from a .psd Photoshop file. I open the psd as composition in AF, save the project, and then I'd like a rotation animation (planar rotation, not 3d) to one of the layers. The layer is the rising sun as shown in the pic below:

risingsun.jpg

The layer in the psd file is bigger than the canvas size, because I knew i should rotate it. When i add a rotation animation in AF via keyframes tha layer spin, but it's cropped to the video size:

risingsun1.jpg

That's not cool, see?

How can i rotate the layer without crop it?

Thanks in advance for all your support.

• 1. Re: AF layer planar rotation crop... =(
          Andrew Yoole MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Sounds like you have imported the PSD layer at document size, rather than layer size.

Select the layer in the Project window, press Cmd/Ctrl H and re-select the PSD.  Be sure to choose "Layer Size", not "Document Size" from the subsequent dropdown menu.

• 2. Re: AF layer planar rotation crop... =(
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

Yupp, I agree with Andrew. If all else fails, import the document as a comp. This usually retains all the layers' original dimensions.

Mylenium

• 3. Re: AF layer planar rotation crop... =(
              Luca'sWorks Level 1

I've imported it as a composition. But the layer has been cropped. I've to told you that the layer was in a folder in Photoshop; importing the psd as composition, this folder is displayed as composition too. Could be this to cause the issue.

I've tried what andrew yoole suggested and it works. I insert the layer imported separately in the "folder-composition" in order to keep layers' order.

One more thing: how do i loop the animation?

Thank you!

• 4. Re: AF layer planar rotation crop... =(
                yenaphe Level 4