12 Replies Latest reply on Dec 1, 2009 10:42 PM by SrinivasAnnam

Help with SharePoint Web Services

existdissolve Level 2

I am new to Flash Builder, but am interested in learning how to develop an application that can integrate with SharePoint web services.  I have used the Web Services import tool to generate the appropriate definitions for the relevant classes and methods (I followed this tutorial).  However, when I try to bind one of these web services to a control--like a data grid--I cannot seem to get at the response received from the Web Service call.

For example, let's say I drag-n-drop a data grid to the canvas, and then drag-n-drop one of the web service calls (example: GetList) generated from the WSDL import.  A function is automatically created on the creationComplete for the Data Grid which does the following:

private function goAndGetTheList(event:FlexEvent):void {

GetListResult.token = SPListService.GetList('xxx-xxx-xx-xxx-xxx');

}

<fx:Declarations>
              <s:CallResponder id="GetListResult"/>
              <splistservice:SPListService id="SPListService" fault="Alert.show(event.fault.faultString)" showBusyCursor="true"/>
      </fx:Declarations>

And of course, my DataGrid dataProvider is set to GetListResult.lastResult

When I run this application, however, I don't receive the expected results, at least not in the Data Grid.  When I debug the GetListResult.lastResult, it appears that the appropriate structure is returned.  And when I view the actual response from the Web Service call, I can plainly see that the XML returned from SharePoint contains the expected information.

I guess my question is what step am I missing?  If the Web Service call brings back the right information, how do I translate it to the Data Grid? I have read about perhaps needing to configure the return type, but I do not seem to be able to do this--at least not as the tutorial I am following suggests to do it.