12 Replies Latest reply on Sep 12, 2009 6:38 PM by Shad0wdrag0n

ending a puzzle game

Shad0wdrag0n Level 1

Is there an easy way to make it so a flash movie recognises when several dragable objects have been put into their correct places on the stage? Like a jigsaw puzzle game for example. How can you make it so the movie recognises when all the pieces have been placed into their correct places and then moves onto the next puzzle (or a congratulations message or something)?

• 1. Re: ending a puzzle game
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

each piece that's moved to the correct spot could have a property assigned to true, say correctSpot.  when each piece is dropped in the correct spot, assign its property and then loop through all the pieces to see if any have a false (or undefined) property.

• 2. Re: ending a puzzle game
            Shad0wdrag0n Level 1

Sorry, but I'm still fairly new to Flash. I don't suppose you have a link to a tutorial or something that explains how to do this?

• 3. Re: ending a puzzle game
              kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

can you determine when a piece is dropped onto the correct location and when a piece is dropped onto an incorrect location?

• 4. Re: ending a puzzle game
                Shad0wdrag0n Level 1

Right now I'm just using something that looks like this:

if(object._x>260 && object._x<275 && object._y>50 && object._y<65){
                setProperty("object", _x, "267.9");
                setProperty("object", _y, "57");

}

I'm not sure if that's the best way to do it, but it seems to work well enough.

• 5. Re: ending a puzzle game
                  Rothrock Level 5

Oh my! You are using some really old style code there. I would recommend that you update to the easier styles. Unless you are publishing to Flash 5 or earlier I would use the following:

someObject._x=268

someObject._y=57

To my eye that is a lot easier to read. Where are you finding these.