8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 9, 2009 1:40 PM by bwalt13

Interesting Transparency Dilemma

bwalt13

Hello,

First of all I'm new here and it looks like I will be staying a while Im a web developer who is beginning to dabble in graphic design when my graphic artist is needing a hand.

Untitled-1.gif

Okay so on this little image above, I want to basically cut out the 9one3 and have it be transparent right there. Is there a way to go about doing this? Everything is converted to outlines and expanded. So if that didnt make sense I want the 9one3 transparent (and the red background behind it) so basically whatever background I put it on it will show through in the 9one3.

Sorry if that is explained poorly! Thank you!

-B

• 1. Re: Interesting Transparency Dilemma
          Jacob Bugge MVP & Adobe Community Professional

B,

You may select both and Pathfinder>Minus Front (Subtract from Shape Area in earlier versions).

• 2. Re: Interesting Transparency Dilemma
            bwalt13 Level 1

Untitled-2.gif

Hmmm this is what happened when I followed your instructions haha! it looks close! If it is any help to know, the 9one3 is actually 2 9one3's grouped, one is expanded by 2 pixels and black behind the white version to give it the stroke look. I tried it a couple times, but by all means I am pretty new with Illustrator

-Bret

• 3. Re: Interesting Transparency Dilemma
              bwalt13 Level 1

Hey Jacob,

I tried your new Pathfinder-> Minus Front idea.

It is almost correct, the problem Im getting is this.

The first one I selected Just the 9one3 and the red bg, the second one I selected the everything.  The second one is close but I want the black to stay.Untitled3.gif

Thank you so much!

• 4. Re: Interesting Transparency Dilemma
                Jacob Bugge MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Bret,

If you wish to punch out the white version of 9one3 only, thus keeping both the black rim and the black curlies, you may

1) Ungroup the white and black 9one3;