5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 10, 2009 1:05 PM by ingvarai

Moving a mask using a Tracker's coordinates?

ingvarai Level 1

Camera on a tripod, fixed position, a man with a hat is walking right to left, in front of a wall. I am able to track the man's head, no problem, using Track Motion, Transform. On a second layer(same video), I add a mask, above the man's hat. This masks out everything, except a portion of the wall, slightly larger than the man's hat.

Challenge:

I want to animate the mask, and position it just above the man's head, to give the impression that the man has no hat - to remove the hat. The wall is unevenly lit, so I want the mask to move as close to the man as possible.

(All of this is just an example, I want to learn how to move a mask using data from a Tracker)

I have watched countless video tutorials, some of them seem to do what I want, but they are so complex I fall off the wagon before I understand how they do it, as I am new to After Effects.

ingvarai

• 1. Re: Moving a mask using a Tracker's coordinates?
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

Well, I think you are confusing two different workflows here. What you describe sounds more like you actually want to use a track matte. For that, you'd cut out whatever shape you desire, put it on top of your otehr layer, then in the bottom layer assign the top layer e.g. as an Alpha Matte. That matte layer can then be conventionally tracked like any other layer. Masks on the otehr hand are not trackable - well, at least not directly. For that, you'd use Null objects to follow certain positions where your mask vertices are supposed to be, then use scripts like TrackerViz or Tracker2Mask (freely downloadable e.g. via links on aescripts.com or xscriptorium.com) to transplant the Null position data to the actual mask points.

Mylenium

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Moving a mask using a Tracker's coordinates?
            Adolfo Rozenfeld Adobe Employee

Ingvarai;