10 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2009 3:16 PM by adobeuserinpoverty

Pre 7 Trial does not recognize my canon HD vixia HG21

adobeuserinpoverty

I have spent 11 days with my Pre 7 trial trying to get it to recognize my camera. It is AVCHD. it cannot detect my camera. I was hoping to bypass the cheap software that came with the camera and just use Adobe to retrieve my videos, edit them, and then burn them to DVD. Reading the forums it looks like I am going to have a lot of problems. I don't know because I can't get past step one.

I took care of the warning at start up stating that content was missing.

So far i am not liking this program.

This is my first time ever editing video. I am worried, looking at all these posts, what other problems I am going to have.

Can someone help me get past step one anyway?

• 1. Re: Pre 7 Trial does not recognize my canon HD vixia HG21
          A.T. Romano Level 7

A brief search has brought up other similar problems involving Premiere Elements 7 and the Canon HF series where Paul_LS suggests what you are doing now, that is, transferring video from camcorder to computer, using the software that came with the camcorder.

http://forums.adobe.com/message/1893892#1893892

That appears to be the workaround until a Canon/Adobe solution is found.

A new version is expected to be released around October/November 2009, but no one knows the details the new release.

ATR

• 2. Re: Pre 7 Trial does not recognize my canon HD vixia HG21
            A.T. Romano Level 7

I forgot to ask "What Premiere Elements project preset (new project dialog) are you using when you try to import your AVCHD, presumed with Get Media/AVCHD category?

Have you tried varying the order of turning things on, camcorder first, Premiere Elements second, as well as Premiere Elements first, camcorder second?

Different USB port?

ATR

• 3. Re: Pre 7 Trial does not recognize my canon HD vixia HG21
              adobeuserinpoverty Level 1