5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 15, 2009 3:11 PM by Ned Murphy

Loading .swf file into .swf loaded through movieclip

Reign717

I'm using loadMovie("folder/file.swf", "_root.host"); to load the first swf file into a blank movieclip named 'host'.  When I try using the same code it loads the other swf file, it just closes the first one.  I want to have it as more of a popup that can be closed without affecting the original swf file. please help

• 1. Re: Loading .swf file into .swf loaded through movieclip
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

loadMovie() replaces the target movie with the loaded movie, so what you will want to do is use the MovieClip.createEmptyMovieClip() method to first add a child movieclip that you can load the second file into.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Loading .swf file into .swf loaded through movieclip
            Reign717 Level 1

I'm still a novice at this so I'm not sure what I'm doing just yet.  I've haven't used the createEmptyMovieClip function yet so lemme see if I've got this straight.  I can do something like

on (release) {
                MovieClip.createEmptyMovieClip("folder/file.swf", "_root.host");
            }

and just create another 'host' movie clip in the second flash file?

ps-thanks for the quick response, it's nice

• 3. Re: Loading .swf file into .swf loaded through movieclip

Here's more along the lines of what I was saying... you load your first movie the same way as you were...

loadMovie("folder/file.swf", "_root.host");

Then you add an empty movieclip to that swf...

_root.host.createEmptyMovieClip("secondMC", _root.host.getNextHighestDepth();)

Then you load your second movie into that created MC...

_root.host.secondMC.loadMovie(....

And your second movie assumes the life/identity of the empty mc you created.

Hopefully I'm not off target of what you intend.

1 person found this helpful
              • 4. Re: Loading .swf file into .swf loaded through movieclip