4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 15, 2009 11:49 AM by hebbie70

Alignment issues between timelines?

hebbie70

I am stumped. I am not a newbie, but this is driving me crazy.

(not my file, supplied by client) I have a movie clip in the main timeline, which in its own timeline has rollover buttons which coincide with popup panels in the main timeline. I need to add a callout line between the rollover buttons on the movie clip timeline with the popups on the main timeline.

I have tried to do a quick copy/paste thing from the MC timeline just to add the callouts (and then delete it) to the main, but everything shifts over to another place, and that does not help me at all, and I really dont know why! Like I said, driving me crazy.

Any clues on how to align a main timeline object(s) with a object(s) on its own timeline? And, am I a moron? : ) why can I not copy paste and/or use the properties x/y to place it in? When I do it shifts to a way different location on the main timeline. Seriously, stumped.

Help?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Alignment issues between timelines?
          __antonio__ Level 3

Hebbie,

You're not a moron. These things are easy to forget.

So, The main timeline's registration point (0,0) is at Top,Left. Movie Clip (or buttons or graphics) registration is always 0,0, even though you can make the registration point be anything else (top/left, top/right, center/center, etc).

Let's say you have a perfect 100x100 rectangle inside a movie clip and center/center aligned, then its x,y (inside the movie clip) would be -50,-50. Now, if your Movie Clip is on stage and Top,left aligned with the stage, then its x,y is 50,50, because the mc's registation point determines x,y. Get it?

Think of symbols as extensions of the main timeline. 0,0 equals 0,0.

Again, You're not a moron. Even Professionals can forget these things.

• 2. Re: Alignment issues between timelines?
            hebbie70 Level 1

Thanks for the reply-it does make sense now! (derrrr...)