6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2009 6:02 AM by burchan

is my system o.k. for encoding full HD in Premiere?

Paul Ferrante

I need some insight here ...

Let me start by saying ... for more than 15 years I have been a producer ... and hardly ever got in front of an editing machine to edit myself ... but now for the last 3 years ... I have been doing more and more editing ... I don't know much about the hardware side of things ... only enough to know ... I don't know much ...

I have the following:

Windows vista 64bit

asus p5kc motherboard

Intel core 2 quad Q6600 2.4ghz cpu

gforce 8800gt gpu

8gb ram

300gb raptor C-Hard drive (that's where the CS4 software is ...)

1tb Seagate (sata) (that's where the content is)

(and two other hard drives)(sata) (with graphics, ect)

I'm running premiere cs4 and I'm trying to render and encode Sony ex3 (1920x1080) video, along with some full screen HD graphic beds ... with a two box overlay of video and jpegs ...

It's taking around 6 times longer than real-time to encode (1hr video is taking 6 hours to encode) ... is that normal for a system like mine?

I did just get a matrox compressHD card ... to help ... but the pc drivers don't come out for a few weeks ... I really just want to know if I'm missing something here (like a bottleneck in my system) ... or is that how long it takes to compress full HD.

Sorry if I left out any vital info ... I just don't know what else is vital to figure this out ...

Thank you in advance for any insight on this issue ...

Paul

• 1. Re: is my system o.k. for encoding full HD in Premiere?
          Harm Millaard Level 7

It's taking around 6 times longer than real-time to encode (1hr video is taking 6 hours to encode) ... is that normal for a system like mine?

Encoding time depends heavily on the settings you use. Encode to what, BR with H.264 or MPEG2 or to DVD. What bitrates are used? Is Maximum Render Quality on? Single pass or 2-pass?